Central Texas Hill Country

St. Stanislaus in Chappell Hill

St. Stanislaus in Chappell Hill by James Smock

In 1888, Rev. James Grabinger, announced that a church would be built in Chappell Hill — St. Stanislaus. The great hurricane of 1900 that devastated Galveston destroyed this first church. The church, which was a small frame building, was blown down on September 9, 1900.

The second St. Stanislaus church, a frame structure of 40′ x 80′, was built in 1901, facing west and was located where the old rectory stands today. On December 4, 1921, a fire that started after Mass on Sunday destroyed the church, rectory and the parish office.

The third and present St. Stanislaus church was started in January 1922, and completed in August 1924.

Photo James Smock